top of page

Glanvill Scores Podium on Special Weekend


One rollercoaster of a weekend at Knockhill with a dry and a wet race, I achieved my best results of the season so far...

Quali - Always my weak point I was determined to fix it this weekend. The session was filled with red flags but full send mode was engaged and I was determined to make use of the limited time. 🅿️2! I've never started on the front row before 👀

🌞 Race 1 - I got a brilliant start and challenged speedy teammate Ryan Smith Racing for the lead. I decided it was safer not to be the Turn 1 hero and tuck in behind him into McIntyres 😅 A drove my socks off all race long, holding off both the hard charging 2018 Celtic Speed Scottish MINI Cooper Cup Champion John Duncan and Ross Dunn (Micro Machines Racing) who were hot on my heels as the three of us lapped bumper to bumper round the circuit. On the last corner of the last lap I went defensive to fend off a lunging John Duncan Racing. Taking the defensive line into the corner compromised my exit and it was a three way drag race to the finish line for a photo finish! Ross came out on top, followed 0.2secs later by John, followed 0.03secs later BY ME! 🙈😫 I couldn't believe it, 🅿️4 by 0.03seconds 😬💔 I was absolutely devastated but fair play to Ross and John for clean, competitive racing which was certainly thrilling for the spectators! Congrats to Ryan for the win which has put him back in the lead of the championship.

🌧️ Race 2 - Starting P4 in the wet I decided I was going home with a shiny thing or in the back of an ambulance. I managed to sneak up into P3 on the start but championship leader Ryan managed to get me back at the hairpin a few laps later. At the midway point they threw our first Safety Car of the season. Experienced racer, John, was leading the field at this time and I knew he'd pull out all the stops to get himself some breathing space on the restart. Thankfully, I had my wits about me and was soon bearing down on Ryan in P3. A tiny wiggle under the brakes at the hairpin for Ryan was just what I needed to quite literally dive into P3 - I continued to drive as fast as I possibly could until I saw the chequered flag held out over the gantry. FINALLY! 🏆😅😍🤩 MY FIRST PODIUM! 🅿️3

It's been a crazy weekend racing against some fantastic drivers. This massive points haul also puts me back in the running for a strong finish in the championship with some continued hard work.

To top it off - Ladies Day was a great success and everyone involved did an incredible job! 💅 We took several sign ups on the day, greatly boosting our female membership numbers 💪🙊 To finally get my first podium was very special but to do it in the wet, on Ladies Day after such disappointment in Race 1 was just the icing on the cake 🎂 The spectators were electric!👏🤩 It's been a long time coming and I really have worked so hard for this. The way I celebrated you'd think I'd won the Formula One 👀....

Thanks to everyone who has played a part in this, particularly my team Minimax Motorsport, Scott Mckenzie, Bob Mather and sponsors House of Hearing, GMP Print Solutions, Rentec Autocare, DH Autosprayer + Marshals, medics and track staff Scottish Motor Racing Club / Knockhill Racing Circuit


RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page