top of page

JSCC Scholarship Win!

I travelled down from Edinburgh apprehensive but excited to take part in the great new initiative that is Teenage Cancer Trust Junior Saloon Car Scholarship. Everyone was very welcoming and friendly which ultimately helped me absorb more feedback and have a very memorable day. The morning began with a fitness test which incorporated both weight and cardio training followed by an interview in front of the camera with 2015 Ginetta Supercup Champion, Tom Oliphant, and Clerk of the Course, Vickie MacClinton. We then had an hour track session to prove our ability in the car round the Silverstone Stowe Circuit. The four instructors were very encouraging and made me feel relaxed in the car so I could get the most out of the track time. The final assessment was the Batak Board which provided a friendly challenge for all of the competitors whilst testing our reaction times and peripheral vision. I was thrilled and certainly shocked to be announced as one of the 3 finalists after lunch. Nervous was an understatement as I climbed the staircase for my final 15 minute panel interview. My approach was very much to try to communicate my true passion for the Teenage Cancer Trust and the Junior Saloon Car Championship to the panel. I was over the moon to be awarded the scholarship for a funded drive in the JSCC in 2016. The opportunity is immense and I very much look forward to my graduation year in circuit racing as an ambassador of such a prominent charity. Racing at some of the UKā€™s most famous circuits such as Silverstone, Brands Hatch and Knockhill is something I have always dreamed of and the idea that this opportunity will enable me to do this still feels surreal to me! I know I have a busy month ahead of me with multiple testing sessions, sitting my ARDs license exam, learning the Oulton Park Circuit and training in the gym to ensure I am as prepared as I possibly can be for Round 1 on 19th March. I intend to make full use of this once in a lifetime chance to break into motorsport and ensure I am always giving the best of myself for the Teenage Cancer Trust and the championship. Iā€™m sure with the support of the many scholarship sponsors, to whom I am very grateful, we can raise the awareness of the Teenage Cancer Trust and help contribute towards their impact on the 7 teenagers diagnosed with cancer in the UK everyday. A final thank you to all involved in running such a well organised scholarship event. See you on the grid!


RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page